Letter from the


Director Letter

Andee Cochren
Executive Director, Columbus Blue Jackets Foundation


As I look back on my first year as Executive Director of the Columbus Blue Jackets Foundation, I am truly humbled by the work we do to give back to a community that does so much for us and the generosity of our partners, players, staff and fans that make it all possible. Without you, we would not be able to impact those in need as significantly as we do.

During the 2022-23 season, the Blue Jackets and Blue Jackets Foundation surpassed $2 million in collective community investment, supported over 900 different organizations, touched the lives of 90,000 youth, and provided grants to 34 local non-profit organizations. The Foundation has contributed more than $13 million to support children’s health and wellness initiatives in central Ohio since its inception in 2000.

Over the past 12 months, we have accomplished a great deal together. We built our 12th hockey-themed playground to support the health and safety of children. We helped children build a stronger academic foundation by providing support for literacy education. Our unwavering commitment to eliminate barriers to hockey gave many boys and girls the chance to enjoy our sport who otherwise would have been denied the opportunity. We welcomed back our Hero program, which honors brave kids fighting cancer by providing unique experiences and program funding.

As a professional sports team we have a responsibility to positively impact our community and that is something in which we take great pride. Your support helps us be champions off the ice, for each other, for the next generation and for Columbus.

On behalf of the Blue Jackets Foundation Board of Directors and our team, we invite you to take a look back at last season’s efforts to enrich the lives of children in our city through our annual Community Report. You have my heartfelt thanks for your support. Go Jackets!

Board of Directors

Cathy Lyttle

Board Chair

T.J. LaMendola


Sandy Doyle-Ahern

Board Member

Amy McConnell

Board Member

Jessica McConnell

Board Member

Nathan P. Wymer

Board Member

Tiina Kekäläinen

Board Member

Kathryn Dobbs

Board Member

Andee Cochren

Executive Director

John P. McConnell

Chairman Emeritus